Visit our new website:

Torey Lovullo and Paul Molitor win Manager of the Year awards

  • Wed, 15 Nov 2017 08:00

Both managers shepherded major turnarounds in 2017.

The 2017 Manager of the Year winners have been announced, as voted on by the BBWAA. For the AL, the winner is Minnesota’s Paul Molitor. For the NL, Torey Lovullo of the Diamondbacks took home the honors.

By clicking on this post, you admit you at least pretend to care about possibly the least exciting award out of all the honors handed out after the season. So congratulations on that, sincerely.

Lovullo won the award with 18 first place votes, with Dodgers’ skipper Dave Roberts receiving five first place votes to take second place, leaving the Rockies’ Bud Black in third.

Roberts took the Dodgers to the World Series, beating Lovullo’s Diamondbacks along the way, but Lovullo took the team from a 69-win season in 2016 to a 93-win season this year in his inaugural year with the team. With the way these awards are usually decided, that’s as good a reason as any for him to win. A surprise turnaround will almost always get more notice than sustained success.

It’s the fourth year in a row a manager in his first year with his team has won the award. In addition to the three finalists, the BrewersCraig Counsell, the Nationals’ Dusty Baker, and the Cubs’ Joe Maddon received votes.

In the AL, Molitor took the prize after turning the team around from a league-worst 103 losses to sneaking into the playoffs with 85 wins this year. Terry Francona, who led the Indians to 102 wins and an ALDS berth, came in second, and the Astros’ A.J. Hinch came in third.

Once again, amazing turnaround beats a major success story.

Both wins were deserved and a cap to great seasons by both teams even if they weren’t the clubs that made it to the World Series. But that’s not the point of the award, and if it were, it would be a way more boring announcement than it is. - All Posts


Save big on top tech magazines.

Related Stories

Golf: Rahm and Landry in playoff at La Quinta
  • Mon, 22 Jan 2018 07:42

(Reuters) - Spain's Jon Rahm and American Andrew Landry were headed for a playoff at the Career Builder Challenge after Landry made a birdie putt at t...

The Latest: Fight breaks out in Eagles parking lot
  • Mon, 22 Jan 2018 06:38

The Latest on the NFL conference championships. (all times local):... AP Top Sports News at 6:35 p.m. EST

Grammy Awards 2018 nominees and show information
  • Mon, 22 Jan 2018 06:26

Jay-Z, Kendrick Lamar, Bruno Mars and others have all been nominated for Grammy Awards. FOX News

The Latest: Patriots looking for another postseason comeback
  • Mon, 22 Jan 2018 05:44

The Latest on the NFL conference championships. (all times local):... AP Top Sports News at 5:43 p.m. EST

Who Can Beat the Patriots?
  • Mon, 22 Jan 2018 04:36

They lost three games this season, so they’re beatable. But do the Jaguars, the Vikings or the Eagles have what it takes? NYT > Sports

A.F.C. Championship: Patriots vs. Jaguars Live Updates
  • Mon, 22 Jan 2018 03:39

The defending Super Bowl champions are heavy favorites at home, but the Jaguars’ defense could give Tom Brady trouble. Stay here for live updates an...

2018 might be Amazon’s year to take a leading role in online advertising
  • Mon, 22 Jan 2018 02:29

 With WPP’s over 200,000 employees and a $ 75 billion media book, Sir Martin Sorrell has a uniquely privileged insight into the future of ...

Kyrgios’s message is pure class
  • Mon, 22 Jan 2018 01:36

SPORTSMANSHIP isn’t always a word you associate with matches involving Nick Kyrgios — but that’s exactly what we got when one of the Australian ...

SAG Awards 2018 Winners: The Complete List
  • Mon, 22 Jan 2018 01:12

It's actors toasting actors at tonight's 2018 SAG Awards! In just a few short hours, the biggest stars from both film and television will gather ins...

US hockey GM dies unexpectedly at Colorado Springs home
  • Mon, 22 Jan 2018 00:43

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. (AP) -- Jim Johannson, the general manager of the U.S. Olympic men's hockey team, has died just a couple weeks...

MALAYSIA MASTERS Finals – Tang/Tse snap Chinese winning streak
  • Mon, 22 Jan 2018 00:36

Tse Ying Suet and Tang Chun Man block Zheng Siwei and Huang Yaqiong from winning their fourth straight title, dealing the new pair the first defeat in...

News Categories